East German school boy Stephan Giering – at the age of 16 escaped alone to the West

Stephan Giering was born in 1973 in Belzig in the state of Brandenburg today and grew up in East Berlin (“capital of the GDR”). His father was a Catholic theologian and his mother came from a strictly communist home. So he got early insights into very different living environments within the GDR. The desire to become a journalist and reporter, he already expressed open as a teenager expression and thus as a publisher of his own school newspaper in conflict with the censorship of the school system. When it was clear that he would not be “delegated” to high school, he decided to flee to the West. In October 1989, he drove in his autumn vacation alone by train to Hungary and fled via Austria to the Federal Republic of Germany. There he lived until the German Unity in the former West German capital Bonn. Today Stephan is back home in reunited Berlin-City of Freedom- as he works as a freelance journalist and offers Communist East Bloc workshops and Berlin Tours.

East German school boy Stephan Giering – at the age of 16 escaped alone to the West

In his eyewitness interviews, Mr. Giering is concerned with the individual educational and experiential horizons of the participants of all age groups. He creates his conversations interactively and multimedia and thus integrates the groups. Here, Mr. Giering uses handouts with excerpts from his GDR textbooks & one of his then self-created school newspaper, which was confiscated by his GDR school.
It is important for him to sensitize the participants to the “gray and nuances” of the everyday GDR experience he experiences, because he does not want to classify people and their individual biographies in a black and white scheme.

Contemporary witnesses Stephan Giering

Here you will find an exemplary overview of the variety of groups with which Mr. Giering has so far organised events in German and English:

  • School classes & classes from vocational schools from approx. 8 years to approx. 23 years from Germany, Austria, Switzerland, the USA, Portugal, France, Denmark, Italy, Ireland & Great Britain and Norway.
  • Welcome classes of students & young adults from Syria, Iraq, Afghanistan, the Russian Federation & Africa.
  • Classes with pupils with physical disabilities and hearing impaired & deaf people with simultaneous translation by sign language interpreters and guided tours for pupils with LES challenges in light language.
  • Officers of the German Federal Armed Forces at a management seminar in Berlin
  • Adult individual travellers from India, New Zealand, Spain, Ireland, etc.
  • Government Delegation of the State Council of China (Hong Kong and Macau Affairs Office) and also journalists from free media from Hong Kong
  • Employees of international companies with participants from different countries.

Participants says...

DDR-Zeitzeuge Stephan Giering – mit 16 Jahren alleine in den Westen geflüchtet

Stephan Giering wurde 1973 in Belzig im heutigen Land Brandenburg geboren und wuchs in Ost-Berlin (“Hauptstadt der DDR”) auf. Sein Vater war katholischer Theologe und seine Mutter stammte aus einem streng kommunistischen Elternhaus. So erhielt er frühzeitig Einblicke in sehr verschiedene Lebenswelten innerhalb der DDR. Dem Wunsch, Journalist und Reporter zu werden, verlieh er bereits als Jugendlicher offen Ausdruck und geriet so durch als Herausgeber einer eigenen Schülerzeitung in Konflikt mit der Zensur des Schulsystems. Als abzusehen war, dass er nicht zum Abitur “delegiert” würde, entschloss er sich zur Flucht in den Westen. Im Oktober 1989 flüchtete er alleine in seinen Herbstferien über die damalige Tschechoslowakei (ČSSR) nach Ungarn und floh von dort über das freie Österreich in die Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Dort lebte er bis zur Deutschen Einheit in der damaligen westdeutschen Hauptstadt Bonn. Heute lebt Stephan als freier Publizist im wiedervereinigten Berlin, der Stadt der Freiheit. Hier bietet er Workshops und Führungen zum Thema ´Leben im kommunistischen Ostblock` an.

In seinen Zeitzeugengesprächen ist es Herrn Giering ein Anliegen, auf den jeweiligen Bildungs-und Erfahrungshorizont der Teilnehmenden aller Altersgruppen individuell einzugehen. Seine Gespräche gestaltet er interaktiv & multimedial und bindet somit die Gruppen ein. Dabei benutzt Herr Giering Handouts mit Auszügen aus seinen DDR-Schulbüchern & einer von ihm damals selbst erstellten Schülerzeitung, die von seiner DDR-Schule eingezogen wurde.
Wichtig ist ihm, die Teilnehmenden für die “Grau-und Zwischentöne” des von ihm erlebten DDR-Alltags zu sensibilisieren, weil er Menschen und ihre individuellen Biographien nicht in ein Schwarz-Weiß-Schemata einordnen möchte.

Zeitzeuge Stephan Giering

Hier erhalten Sie einen exemplarischen Überblick über die Vielfalt der Gruppen, mit denen Herr Giering bisher Veranstaltungen auf Deutsch und in Englisch durchgeführt hat:

  • Studierende, Schulklassen & Klassen aus Berufsschulen im Alter von ca. 8 Jahren bis ca. 23 Jahren aus Deutschland, Österreich, der Schweiz, den USA, Kanada, Portugal, Frankreich, Dänemark, Italien, Irland & Großbritannien und Norwegen
  • Willkommensklassen von Schülern & jungen Erwachsenen aus Syrien, dem Irak, Afghanistan, der Russischen Föderation & aus Afrika
  • Klassen mit Schülern mit körperlichen Behinderungen und hörbehinderte & gehörlose Menschen mit Simultanübersetzung durch Gebärdendolmetscher sowie Führungen für Schüler mit LES-Herausforderungen in leichter Sprache
  • Offiziere der deutschen Bundeswehr anlässlich eines Führungskräfteseminars in Berlin
  • Erwachsene Individualreisende aus Indien, Neuseeland, Spanien, Irland, etc.
  • Regierungsdelegation des Staatsrats von China (Hong Kong and Macau Affairs Office)
  • Angestellte internationaler Unternehmen mit Teilnehmern aus verschiedenen Ländern.

Das sagen unsere Schüler...